

## **DRAFT MINUTES**

Annual General Meeting - Thursday, June 20, 2019

**Via Teleconference:** Ursula Brigl, Cranbrook Public Library, David Christensen, Manitoba Public Library Services Branch, Darlene Dallman, South Interlake Regional Library, Wanda Davis, Cariboo Regional District Library, Dean Kelly, Fraser Valley Regional Library, James Laitinen, Okanagan Regional Library, Lenora Lee, KPMG, Brenda Mathenia, College of the Rockies, Carmen Oleskevich, Pender Island Public Library Association, Stirling Prentice, Thompson-Nicola Regional District Library, Melanie Reaveley, Kootenay Library Federation, Meg Sugrue, Royal BC Museum, Elizabeth Tracy, Whistler Public Library, Heidi Rees, Manitoba Legislative Library.

In Person (580 W. Hastings Street, Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue, Strategy Room 420, Vancouver): Hilary Bloom, Squamish Public Library, Gwenda Bryan, Camosun College, Christine Burns, BC Libraries Cooperative, Kay Cahill, Vancouver Public Library, Dr. Diana Davidson, Albert Public Library Services Branch, Laurie Davidson, BC Libraries Cooperative, Beth Davies, Burnaby Public Library, Annette DeFaveri, BC Library Association, Mark Ellis, Richmond Public Library, Adam Farrell, New Westminster Public Library, Sarah Felkar, West Vancouver Memorial Library, Dr. Stan Gardner, University College of the North, Silvana Harwood, Coquitlam Public Library, Sharon Herbert, BC Libraries Cooperative, Deb Hutchison Koep, North Vancouver City Library, Dean Kelly, Fraser Valley Regional Library, Scott Leslie, BC Libraries Cooperative, Shirley Lew, Vancouver Community College, Anna Loster, Legislative Library of BC, Mari Martin, BC Libraries Branch, Emily Mathews, Vancouver Island Regional Library, Dana McFarland, Vancouver Island University, Denise McGeachy, BC Libraries Branch, Kevin Millsip, BC Libraries Cooperative, Shane Parmar, Surrey Public Library, Suzanne Rackover, Emily Carr University of Art and Design and Council of Post-Secondary Library Directors, Beverley Rintoul, Rossland Public Library, Marc Saunders, Coquitlam Public Library, Tami Setala, BC Libraries Cooperative, Tracey Therrien, Nelson Public Library, Ross Tyner, Okanagan College, Jacqueline van Dyk, North Vancouver District Public Library, Jennifer Wile, Surrey Public Library, Baharak Yousefi, Simon Fraser University.

1. (1030 Pacific) Call to Order and Opening Remarks – Quorum was noted.

Dana McFarland, Chair, welcomed members, staff and guests joining in-person and via teleconference. Kevin Millsip, Executive Director clarified in-person and teleconference procedures for motions and speakers.

 Agenda, for approval. Moved by Adam Farrell, New Westminster Public Library. Seconded by Dr. Stan Gardner, University College of the North. In favour: 30, Opposed: 0, Abstentions: 9. Motion carried.

- 3. Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting, for approval. Moved by Adam Farrell, New Westminster Public Library. Seconded by Dr. Stan Gardner, University College of the North. One correction was noted by Ross Tyner, Okanagan College: that Roen Janyk's organization should be changed to Okanagan College. In favour: 32, Opposed: 0, Abstentions: 7. Motion carried.
- 4. Reports for information:
  - a. Verbal Chair's Report (Dana McFarland)
    - i. Verbal NNELS update (Dr. Diana Davidson)
    - ii. Verbal BC Public Library Partners update (Annette DeFaveri)
  - b. Executive Director's Report (Kevin Millsip)
    - i. Annual Report. Received.
    - ii. Verbal Strategic Planning update
- 5. Financial matters:
  - a. FY18/19Audited Financial Statements, for information. Received. Lenora Lee, KPMG also provided a verbal update.
  - b. Appointment of the auditor (KPMG) for FY1920, for approval. Moved by Jacqueline van Dyk, North Vancouver District Public Library. Seconded by Kay Cahill, Vancouver Public Library. In favour: 33, Opposed: 0, Abstentions: 6. Motion carried.
  - c. FY19/20 working budget, for information. Received.
- 6. Governance matters:
  - a. Governance Review Backgrounder For Item 6 (a.), Dana McFarland ceded the role of Chair to Baharak Yousefi, Past Chair, as her role is not impacted by the proposed changes to the Co-op's Rules.
    - i. Draft revised Rules of Association. Received. Beth Davies, Vice Chair also provided verbal remarks. There were no questions from the floor or from teleconference participants.
  - b. (Special Resolution) To accept the amendments to the Co-op's Rules of Association, as presented in the agenda package. Moved by Deb Hutchison Koep, North Vancouver City Library. Seconded by Tracey Therrien, Nelson Public Library. In favour: 34, Opposed: 0, Abstentions: 5. Motion carried.

Baharak Yousefi returned the role of Chair to Dana McFarland for the remainder of the agenda.

- c. Appointment of Board of Directors
  - i. Introduction of nominees and brief comments. Dana McFarland acknowledged the work of the Nominations Committee: Baharak Yousefi, Simon Fraser University and Beverley Rintoul, Rossland Public Library.
  - ii. Declaration of appointment of nominees to the Board, by acclamation

- 1. David Christensen, Public Library Services Branch, Manitoba (Two-year term, renewable)
- 2. Shirley Lew, Vancouver Community College, B.C. (Two-year term, renewable)
- 7. Recognition of Service Baharak Yousefi and Dr. Stan Gardner. Presentations were made by Tracey Therrien.
- 8. Closing Remarks Dana McFarland thanked Co-op members and AGM participants for their support.
- 9. Adjournment (1136 Pacific)